top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie Dempsey

Rep. Dempsey Named Georgia Psychiatric Physicians Association’s Legislator of the Year

Updated: Mar 17, 2022

ATLANTA – State Representative Katie Dempsey (R-Rome) was recently named the Legislator of the Year by the Georgia Psychiatric Physicians Association (GPPA). Rep. Dempsey was presented the award during the annual GPPA meeting.

“I am honored to receive this recognition from an organization that advocates for exceptional mental health care for Georgians,” said Rep. Dempsey. “I look forward to continued work with the Georgia Psychiatric Physicians Association as I personally remain committed to promoting further efforts including authoring future legislation to increase access to quality mental health resources and psychiatric care for all Georgians.”

“Everyone who has the pleasure of knowing Representative Katie Dempsey would agree she is well deserving of the 2019 Legislator of the Year award,” said Travis Lindley, Executive Director of the GPPA. “Representative Dempsey’s skillset as a legislator has greatly influenced healthcare in Georgia. We all benefit from her efforts. I was thrilled to see Rep. Dempsey’s dedication and hard work rewarded. It’s an honor to work with her.”

The award is presented annually by the GPPA in recognition of a legislator who has demonstrated commitment to psychiatry and has used his or her skills and resources to help pass legislation that addresses relevant issues.

The GPPA is a statewide organization that represents Georgia psychiatrists and their patients, and it is also a branch of the American Psychiatric Association. The GPPA promotes professional values and ethics in the practice of psychiatry; improving patient access to quality mental health care; lifelong learning and professional development; and supporting education and advocacy for the profession, patients and their families.

Representative Katie Dempsey represents the citizens of District 13, which includes portions of Floyd County. She was elected to the House of Representatives in 2006 and currently serves as Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Human Resources. She also serves on the Economic Development & Tourism, Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications, Health & Human Services, Higher Education, Rules and Transportation committees.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page